Helping People to Meet God • Make Friends • Grow in Faith

The Five Marks of Mission

The Five Marks of Mission come out of the interpretation of the Bible and God’s role of the Church in Mission. They were first developed as four marks by the Anglican Consultative Council in 1984.
A fifth was added in 1990 when, having appreciated the missiological and biblical implications of the creation and environmental crisis. In 2012 an addition was made to the fourth mark of mission to make clear the task of working towards peace. Since then, they have been widely adopted as an understanding of what contemporary mission is about. They provide a shorthand way to remember key themes of the Church’s mission, reflecting the breadth of mission. They are not a complete statement of the rich grace of God and the mission with which the Church has been entrusted.
The Bible as a whole paints a more complete picture. However, the Five Marks of Mission serve to expand our horizon, so that we do not focus only on one aspect of mission.

After talking to Jolyon White from Anglican Action, I decided to have a sermon series on the Five Marks of Mission in January and early February. I am planning to give an overview during my sermon on 7 January. I had hoped to have different preachers for the different Sundays, but have not been able to fully organise that. I may just have to speak on some topics myself. Also, to align with availability of speakers, the order had to be changed.

14 January-1: to proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom

21 January-3: to respond to human need by loving service

28 January-5: to strive to safeguard the integrity of creation, and sustain and renew the life of the earth.

4 February-4: to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and
pursue peace and reconciliation

11 February-2: to teach, baptise and nurture new believers